Yashwant Sinha
News & Politics

President Election 2022: More discussion of Yashwant Sinha’s defeat than Murmu’s victory, know where was the mistake in three points?

The country’s next president will be Draupadi Murmu. He did not overtake the rival candidate, Yashwant Sinha, until three rounds of counting were complete. After the final round of counting, he was crowned the victor. Sinha was eliminated from the contest in the first round alone at the same time. Even if the numbers were already in Murmu’s favour, nobody had anticipated that Yashwant Sinha would lose in this manner. This is the reason why Draupadi Murmu’s victory is getting more attention than Yashwant Sinha’s failure.

Tell us what transpired to make Yashwant Sinha’s defeat worse.

Know the results of the election first.

The MPs’ votes in the first round of the presidential election were tallied. The votes cast in both the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha, a total of 776 MPs, were genuine. Although some MPs chose not to vote, 15 of these votes were defeated. Up to a value of 5,23,600, 748 MPs’ votes were totaled. Draupadi Murmu received 540 votes out of them. These votes were worth $3,78,000.

Additionally, Yashwant Sinha received 208 MPs. They were worth $1,45,600. In other words, whereas just 28% of MPs voted for Yashwant Sinha, 72 percent of MPs in Parliament supported Murmu. The unique aspect is that Draupadi Murmu received cross votes from 17 opposition MPs. Sinha was thus eliminated from contention as early as the first round.

In three rounds, Murmu received the votes he required to win.

Murmu received the necessary 5 lakh 43 thousand 261 votes as early as the third round. After three rounds of counting were finished, Murmu received 5 Lakh 77 Thousand 777 votes. Yashwant Sinha received only 2 lakh 61 thousand 62 votes at the same time. 20 states, including Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha MPs, participated in the voting.

Yashwant Sinha gave up after three rounds of counting as well. He said, “Draupadi congratulates Murmu on his triumph,” expressing her joy. The nation expects that she would guard the Constitution without fear or favour as the 15th President of the Republic.

Eventually caught up to the race in the fourth round, but Murmu had passed

Yashwant Sinha, the opposition candidate, was disqualified during the first counting round. 3.78 lakh votes were cast for Murmu in the first round. Sinha, in contrast, was 1.45 tall. Following this, the winning gap grew till the third round. In the fourth round, Sinha attempted a comeback, but it was too late. The results show that Sinha received 3,80,177 votes, while Murmu received 6,76,803 votes. As a result, Draupadi Murmu will take over as president of the nation.

Why didn’t Yashwant Sinha’s own people back him?

To further understand this, we met with Dr. Praveen Mishra, a political science professor. “Three rounds of counting revealed that Draupadi Murmu received the support of 110 opposition MLAs and 17 MPs rather than Yashwant Sinha. The opposition’s MPs and MLAs voting for Draupadi Murmu despite publicly endorsing Sinha shows that they are not all in agreement with this decision.

Continue reading to learn the three reasons why the opposition was unable to come together.

  1. An NDA candidate who performs better than Sinha:

Sinha, who belongs to the general group, once held a prominent position in the BJP. Draupadi Murmu is a tribal woman at the same time. The opposition’s MPs and MLAs would stand to gain in the upcoming elections if they supported Murmu in such a situation. He will be able to claim support for Murmu in front of Dalit, backward, and tribal people.

  1. In the name of Sinha, opposition party leaders were unable to appease everyone:

Large representatives of numerous opposition parties, including Congress, TMC, and NCP, were present when Yashwant Sinha’s name was announced. However, these leaders were unable to convince their own MPs and MLAs to vote against Sinha. Another ancient Sinha utterance from UP went viral. In which it was asserted that Sinha had previously referred to Mulayam Singh Yadav, an SP patron, as an ISI agent. This is the rationale for the reports that several SP MLAs voted for Murmu rather than Sinha.

  1. The opposing parties persisted in their internal disputes:

The opposition is not cohesive. No party is currently willing to accept the leadership of Congress, which is the cause of this. The majority of the opposition parties are regional, and they now all want to be in charge. Be it K.K. Chandrashekhar Rao of the TRS or Mamata Banerjee of the TMC. Akhilesh Yadav in UP or Tejashwi Yadav in Bihar. Currently, everyone wants to mount a nationwide challenge against Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

If you liked the content, please share, follow and like us: