Entertainment

Lunar Eclipse in May 2022 – The Super Blood Moon

Lunar Eclipse in May 2022 - The Super Blood Moon

In 2022, the first lunar eclipse will occur on May 15 or 16, depending on your time zone.

A total lunar eclipse will be seen in total phase from parts of the Americas, Antarctica, Europe, Africa, and the east Pacific as the full moon moves into the deep umbral shadow of the Earth. Meanwhile, a penumbral eclipse, which occurs when the moon passes through our planet’s lighter penumbral shadow, will be visible from New Zealand, Eastern Europe, and the Middle East. The full moon on May 15th is a so-called supermoon, in which the full moon is at perigee (its closest to Earth of the month), making it a Super Blood Moon eclipse, according to eclipse scientist Fred Espenak.

While the exact time depends on your location, TimeandDate.com estimates that the partial eclipse will begin around 10:28 p.m. EDT on May 15. (0228 GMT on May 16). The Blood Moon will reach its highest point on May 16 at 12:11 a.m. EDT (0411 GMT). The event will thereafter end at 1:55 a.m. EDT (0555 GMT). The penumbral moon phase of the eclipse will begin around an hour before the partial eclipse and last about an hour after.

Lunar Eclipse in May 2022 - The Super Blood Moon

This is the first of two lunar eclipses that will occur in 2022. The next one will be on November 8, 2022. According to TimeandDate.com, it will be visible in part from Asia, Australia, North America, sections of northern and eastern Europe, the Arctic, and much of South America.

Two lunar eclipses will occur in 2023. The first will take place on May 5 and 6, 2023, and will be visible, at least in part, from southern and eastern Europe, Antarctica, much of Asia, Australia, Africa, and the Pacific, Indian, and Atlantic oceans.

On Oct. 28 and 29, a partial eclipse will be visible from Europe, Asia, Australia, Africa, North America, northern and eastern South America, the Arctic, Antarctica, and the Pacific, Atlantic, and Indian Oceans. 

Tips to help you get the most out of the Lunar Eclipse in May 2022 

  1. While the visibility of the eclipse varies by region, timeanddate.com provides global information on when the eclipse begins and ends. The partial eclipse begins at 10:28 p.m. EDT on May 15. (0228 GMT on May 16).
  1. On May 16, around 12:11 a.m. EDT, the Blood Moon will be visible (0411 GMT). All phases of the eclipse ends at 1:55 a.m. EDT (0555 GMT). (If you’re in the region of the penumbral eclipse, it will begin approximately an hour before the partial eclipse and end about an hour after.)
  1. On YouTube, you will get some live streams of the event which will help you watch the lunar eclipse closely.
  1. The webcast by astronomy streaming provider Slooh will begin on May 15 at 9:30 p.m. EDT (May 16 0130 GMT). You should hear about the eclipse and its cultural importance from astronomy enthusiasts. Slooh will only show the whole eclipse to the public, with the partial eclipse being covered on a members-only Discord channel.
  1. There’s also the TimeandDate.com broadcast. It plans to live stream the entire event starting at 10 p.m. EDT on May 15 (0200 GMT on May 16) as long as the weather cooperates.

Why will the Moon Appear Blood Red during Lunar Eclipse in May 2022? 

When a total lunar eclipse occurs, it passes through the Earth’s umbra or deep shadow. Our planet’s light is refracted as it passes through the atmosphere and lands on the moon’s surface. The red hue comes from there.

Simply put, you may picture our planet’s sunsets and sunrises reflected on the moon’s surface; the sky seems redder during this period of the day, which is another explanation for the Blood Moon color.

Penumbral eclipses are more difficult to spot. These occur when the moon just passes through our planet’s penumbra or lighter shadow. It can be difficult to see the moon darkening at times, but depending on how much light pollution you are exposed to, you may be luckier For a penumbral eclipse, the moon will not turn red, but it will appear darker than usual.

Read Further:

May 2022 Predictions – Astrological Predictions