UEFA Champions League Group Stage Draw

UEFA Champions League Group Stage Draw

When the UEFA group stage draw for this season is announced on Thursday in Istanbul, all 32 European clubs, including the defending champion Real Madrid, will know about their groups and rivals. Real Madrid, Barcelona, and Juventus are among the top group. These teams are still fighting Champions League organizer UEFA in the European Court of Justice to establish their independent league.

Bod/Glimt of Norway is the sole newcomer to the Champions League among the 32 clubs participating in the group stage this year. When the second legs of the three playoffs are played on Wednesday, the final three qualifiers will be determined. In the playoff round reserved for national winners, Bod/Glimt leads 1-0 against Dinamo Zagreb in Croatia and Copenhagen leads 2-1 against host Trabzonspor of Turkey.

UEFA Champions League – Everything you need to know

  1. When will the UEFA Champions League group stage matches take place?

Matches in the UCL group stage will begin on September 6 and end on November 2.

  1. When will the UEFA Champions League group stage draw take place?

On Thursday, August 25, at 9:30 PM IST, the UEFA Champions League group stage draw will take place in Istanbul, Turkey.

  1. What is the format for the UEFA Champions League group stage draw?

The 32 teams, representing 15 different nations, are divided into four-team groups for home-and-away round-robin games. The same country’s teams cannot be in the same group. Next year, the top two finishers in each group advance to the knockout round.

The Champions League and Europa League champions from the previous season, Real Madrid and Eintracht Frankfurt, along with six other league champions from the top-ranked domestic leagues, are the top seeds.

The seeding for the remaining 24 teams is determined by UEFA rankings based on European results over the previous five seasons. Out of the 24, Liverpool is ranked first, and Maccabi Haifa is last.

  1. How will the World Cup 2022 affect the UEFA Champions League fixture?

These Champions League groups begin early on September 6 and end five weeks earlier than usual, on November 2, because the World Cup in Qatar starts on November 20. There will be six rounds played in under nine weeks, followed by a three-month break until the round of 16 begins on February 14. It will be drawn on November 7. The first World Cup held outside of the European summer has caused scheduling conflicts, therefore the Champions League final at Istanbul’s Atatürk Olympic Stadium will take place on June 10. 

  1. What is the prize money in the UEFA Champions League this season?

In the group stage, each team receives a base payment of 15.6 million euros ($15.5 million), plus an additional 2.8 million euros ($2.78 million) for each victory and 930,000 euros ($924,000) for each draw. Each draw game results in an additional 930,000 euros ($924,000) being pooled and distributed among the winning teams. With each knockout round, the payments rise.

Real Madrid, the team with the highest “coefficient,” receives 36.4 million euros ($36.1 million), while Maccabi Haifa, the team with the lowest “coefficient,” receives just 1.14 million euros ($1.13 million). Teams receive a portion of their domestic broadcast rights agreement as well.

The final winner will receive approximately 125 million euros ($124 million) in UEFA prize money.

  1. What are the UEFA Champions League Group Stage Pots?

Pot 1: Real Madrid (Spain), Eintracht Frankfurt (Germany), Manchester City (England), AC Milan (Italy), Bayern Munich (Germany), Paris Saint-Germain (France), Porto (Portugal), Ajax (Netherlands).

Pot 2: Liverpool (England), Chelsea (England), Barcelona (Spain), Juventus (Italy), Atlético Madrid (Spain), Sevilla (Spain), Leipzig (Germany), Tottenham (England).

Pot 3: Borussia Dortmund (Germany), Salzburg (Austria), Shakhtar Donetsk (Ukraine), Inter Milan (Italy), Napoli (Italy), Benfica (Portugal), Sporting Lisbon (Portugal), Bayer Leverkusen (Germany)

Pot 4: Rangers (Scotland), Dinamo Zagreb (Croatia), Marseille (France), Copenhagen (Denmark), Club Brugge (Belgium), Celtic (Scotland), Viktoria Plzen (Czech Republic), Maccabi Haifa (Israel).

Read More:

World’s First Hydrogen Train runs in Germany